Meet the Children of Cambodia

31 in 31Today our “31 in 31” series heads to Cambodia, a country where we have worked for about a year with ChildFund Alliance partner ChildFund Australia. For insight into Cambodia, we’ll let the children do the talking.

Cambodia - Cheat and Chin

Brothers Cheat (right) and Chin
My name is Cheat. I live in the Chamkar Chek village in the Svay Chrum district of Cambodia and study in first grade at Chouk Meas primary school.

I am 7 years old and I have four siblings — three older brothers and one younger brother. My mother does housework and my father works in Phnom Penh as a construction worker with two of my older brothers.

Everyday I come to school with my younger brother. His name is Chin; he is 5 years old. I have to look after him when my other brother and mother are busy or not at home.

I like playing hide and seek games with my classmates, or sometimes I just sit and watch them chase each other. I want to have my school look better or get a new school because I want my younger brother also to have a good place to study.

Everyday when I go back home after school I help my mother and brothers collect firewood for cooking, look after my younger brother and graze the cows.

When I grow up, I want to have a job working as a construction worker like my father and brothers so that I can earn money to help my family.

Cambodia - Seap

My name is Seap and I am 7 years old. I have two older sisters and study in the first grade at Chouk Meas primary school. My mother works in a garment factory in Phnom Penh, and my father is a moto dup (motor taxi) driver in Phnom Penh also.

My sisters and I live with grandparents. I go to school on foot, but sometimes my grandfather drives me to school with his motor bike.

I like playing high jump at school with other children. I like coming to school because I have many friends. I want to look after my school well so that we have a good place to study.

My grandmother does the cooking at home for us. When I go back home after class, I help my grandmother and sisters wash dishes and collect firewood near the house for cooking.

When I grow up I want to work in the garment factory with my mother.

Cambodia3_girl and boy

Kador (right) and Yich
My name is Kador. I live in Sikar village in the Svay Chrum district of Cambodia. I am 10 years old and live with my mother. I have one younger brother and two younger sisters.

I am studying in first grade at Chouk Meas primary school. When I was younger, I was sick a lot and that is why my mother did no let me go to school until I was 10.

My father works as a taxi driver in Svay Rieng town and my mother stays at home.

Everyday I come to school with my younger sister, Yich. She is 7 years old and I want her to go to school with me because I want her not to be afraid of school when she starts first grade next year. We walk about 1,500 meters from our house to school.

I like my school, but also want to have a new school so that other children can come to study. Besides study, I look after my younger sister, collect firewood and help my mother do housework.

My younger sister wants to go to work in the garment factory when she grows up. I want to find a job as a construction worker so that I can earn money.

For more information about Cambodia, click here.

What’s next: We venture back to Africa to visit Uganda.

More on Cambodia
Population: 14.5 million
Did You Know?: Cambodia is home to the Tonlé Sap, a river that changes its flow of direction twice a year.

Comments are closed.